By | September 6, 2015

On the recommendations of the Central Sanskrit Commission appointed by the  Government of India during 1950s,  a Central Sanskrit Institute was established at Tirupati in 1961 by the Ministry of Education, Government of India in partial fulfilment of the recommendations, for the preservation and propagation of Traditional Sanskrit  learning combining it with the modern methods of research.  The Government of India constituted an autonomous registered body called ‘Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha Tirupati Society’ for the administration of the institution.  The foundation stone for the Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha was laid by the then Vice-President of India , Dr.S.Radhakrishnan on 4th January, 1962. About  forty two acres of land at the foot of the Seven Hills, Tirumala was leased out  by the T.T.D. Trust, then headed by Executive Officer, Dr.C.Anna Rao along with a munificient donation of Rs.10 lacs towards construction of  buildings.

The Vidyapeetha Society has had a galaxy of successive chairmen who were well known public figures – Sri Patanjali Sastry, former Chief Justice of India being the first, followed by Prof.V.Raghavan, a reputed Indologist and Sri M.Ananthasayanam Ayyangar, former Speaker of Lok Sabha. Dr. B.R. Sharma was the Founder, and also acted as the Director from 1962 to 1970. Later the post of Director was changed into that of Principal. Sri Venkata Raghavacharya,  Dr.Mandan Mishra, Dr.R.Karunakaran, Dr. M.D. Balasubramanyam and Prof. N.S. Ramanuja Tatacharya served the institution in various capacities. Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha came under the aegis of Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan– an autonomous body under the Ministry of Education in April, 1971. Despite  the  challenges of the modern world, it has grown from strength to strength as a premier Institution for Sanskrit  learning  and  research  in   India . During   the   Silver Jubilee celebrations in 1987, Sri P.V.Narasimha Rao, the then Union Minister of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India announced the decision of the Government to elevate its status to that of a Deemed University.

K L University, Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh

The Vidyapeetha was declared as a Deemed to be a University on the recommendations of the U.G.C  under Section 3 of UGC Act by the Government of India in its Gazette dated 16 – 11- 1987,  No. F.9-2/85 U-3. The Deemed University was formally inaugurated   by the then President of India Sri R. Venkataraman on 26th August, 1989. The Vidyapeetha started functioning as a Deemed University from the academic year 1991 – 92. Since then we have had three eminent Chancellors – M.M.Sri Pattabhirama Sastri,Prof.Ramaranjan Mukherjee and Dr.V.R.Panchamukhi(two terms), and  the Vice-Chancellors were Prof.N.S.Ramanuja Tatacharya, Prof.S.B.Raghunathacharya and Prof.D.Prahladachar. Now Prof. Harekrishna Sathapathy took over as Vice-Chancellor.

The Vidyapeetha is now headed by Dr.J.B.Patnaik serving as  the Chancellor and  Prof. Harekrishna Sathapathy as  the Vice-Chancellor of the Vidyapeetha.

Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha, a University established under section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956 is a premier instituion in the field of higher learning in Sanskrit studies, Trditional Sastras and Pedagogy. It is funded by the Ministry of Human Resource Development through University Grants Commission, New Delhi. The Vidyapeetha has a long history in the service of Sanskrit education.

The vidyapeetha was established at Tirupati (A.P.) in 1961 by the Govt. of India on the recommendations of the Sanskrit Commission (1957) as an autonomous body under the name of Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha Tirupati Society. Dr. S.Radhakrishnan, the then Vice Presiden t of India laid the foundation stone of the vidyapeetha on 4th January 1962. The basic objective of setting up the Vidyapeetha is to impart and improve Sanskrit pedagogy, to accelerate the pace of higher Sanskrit learning and to combine the traditional Sanskrit education with modern scientific research.

Later, Kendriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha, Tirupati came under the administrative control of Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan as an autonomous body under the Ministry of Education in April 1971. In the year 1987 the Vidyapeetha was declared as a Deemed University by the Government of India, considering its service to the cause of Sanskrit Education, achievements in research and pubications and general progress in the past 25 years. it was formally inaugurated by teh President of India Sri. R.Venkataraman on 26th August, 1989. considering its achievements and potential for reseach in Traditional Sastras, the Univesity was given the status of Center of Excellence in Traditional Sastras during the X plan period.


  2. SASTRI (Eq. to B.A.)
  3. SASTRI Vedabhashya (Eq. to B.A.)
  4. B.A.
  5. B.Sc.(Sastri)


  1. ACHARYA (Eq.M.A.)
  2. M.A. in Sanskrit – Sabdabodha Systems & Language Technology
  3. P.G.Diploma in Yoga Therapy and Stress Management
  4. M.Sc. in Computer Science & Language Technology
  5. P.G.Diploma in Comparative Aesthetics (Sahitya) in Global Perspective
  6. Master in Ancient Indian Management Techniques (MAIMT) (2 year UGC Approved Post Graduate Course in Management)


  1. Visishtacharya (M.Phil.) in all the following Sastras
  2. Visishtacharya (M.Phil.) in Education
  3. VIDYAVARIDHI (Doctor of Philosophy) Regular and Part-Time


  1. SIKSHA SASTRI (Eq. to B.Ed.)
  2. SIKSHA ACHARYA (Eq. to M.Ed.)



  1. Post Graduate Diploma in Yoga Vijnan
  2. Post Graduate Diploma in Natural Language Processing
  3. Post Graduate Diploma in Web-Techology


  1. Diploma in Temple Culture
  2. Diploma in Pourohitya
  3. Diploma in Sanskrit & Law
  4. Diploma in Management with oriental orientation


  1. Certificate in Temple Culture
  2. Certificate in Pourohitya
  3. Certificate in Pourohitya
  4. Certificate in Jyotisha


  1. DTP in Indian Languages
  2. Web-Technology
  3. Puranetihasa
  4. Vastu Sastra
  5. Certificate, Diploma and Advanced Diploma courses in Translation Techiques and Creative writing in Sanskrit and Regional languages.
For General Information 

      EPABX Phone Nos. 0877-2287649, 0877-2287690, 0877-2288644,                0877-2286686, 0877-2286177

For Administrative and other General Information
The Registrar,

Telephone No 0877-2286799

    0877-2287649 Ext. 222, 229

Fax No. 0877-2287809

E-mail : [email protected]

The Deputy Registrar,

Tele Phone No.0877-2287649 Ext. 221

E-mail :

For Academic and admissions Directorate of Distance Education
Dean, Academic Affairs

Telephone No. 0877-2286600

0877-2287649 Ext. 261, 226

Director, Distance Education

Telephone No. 0877-2287745

0877-2287649 Ext. 262,256          

E-mail :[email protected]

For Finance and Accounts Information For Examinations other related information
Finance Officer

Telephone No. 0877-2288431

0877-2287649 Ext.220, 247

Controller of Examinations

Telephone No. 0877-2287748

0877-2287649 Ext.232, 231, 235

For Library Details For Hostel admissions etc.
The Assistant University Librarian

Telephone No. 0877-2287647

0877-2287649 Ext.332, 334, 225

Deputy Warden

Telephone No. 0877-2286686

0877-2287649 Ext. 285

For Mailing Address
                                     Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha

(University established under Section 3 of UGC Act, 1956)

Tirupati – 517 507

Andhra Pradesh, India


Leave a Reply